Bruce Highway Trust Advisory Council Communique Meeting #6

On 7 September 2022, chaired by Mr Peter Garske, Company Director, Queensland Transport and Logistics Council, the sixth and final Bruce Highway Trust Advisory Council (BHTAC) meeting was held in Brisbane.

The role of the Council was to oversee the development of a new 15-year Vision for the Bruce Highway (Brisbane – Cairns) and to identify priorities to be delivered through three, five-year rolling Action Plans and the *Safer Bruce 2030* Action Plan, in order to inform future Federal and State Budget deliberations.

The objective of the BHTAC was to guide the BHTAC-Technical Working Group (BHTAC-TWG) in the preparation of the Vision and Action Plans, including providing advice and direction on stakeholder needs, expectations and priorities.

At this final meeting, the Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR) provided BHTAC members with an overview on the updated final draft *15-year Vision and Action Plans for the Bruce Highway* and the final draft *Safer Bruce 2030 Action Plan* and described how members' feedback from Meeting #5 had been considered.

BHTAC members received a presentation from TMR on the Queensland Government's broader approach to road safety across the Queensland road network. This included a description of how the actions within the draft *Safer Bruce 2030 Action Plan* align with the national and state road safety frameworks, strategies and plans.

The Honourable Mark Bailey MP, Minister for Transport and Main Roads addressed the final meeting virtually to thank members for their efforts in overseeing the development of the final draft *15-year Vision and Action Plans for the Bruce Highway* and the final draft *Safer Bruce 2030 Action Plan.* Minister Bailey said he looked forward to receiving the final drafts of both plans from the Chair for government consideration.

BHTAC members were also briefed by TMR Director-General, Neil Scales on the planning progress and transport implications for the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The members indicated the most important achievements of the BHTAC from their perspectives included:

- the customer research undertaken by TMR was an integral part of the process and influenced the decision-making
- the active participation of industry and community to achieve the long-term vision and action plans for the Bruce Highway was a positive collaboration, using a robust methodology
- they felt listened to with their views having received due consideration by TMR
- recognition that infrastructure and non-infrastructure actions in the draft *Safer Bruce 2030 Action Plan* "need to work together" to help achieve the ambitious safety targets
- recognition that road safety was everyone's responsibility
- they had delivered the draft plans they were tasked to oversee as outlined in the BHTAC Terms of Reference.

Finally, BHTAC members endorsed the final draft *15-year Vision and Action Plans for the Bruce Highway* and the final draft *Safer Bruce 2030 Action Plan* for Government consideration.

Bruce Highway Trust Advisory Council Communique Meeting #6

Bruce Highway Trust Advisory Council members and attendees at the Brisbane meeting, 7 September 2022

7 September 2022			
Member	Position	BHTAC Position	Proxy
Mr Peter Garske	Company Director, Queensland Transport and Logistics Council (QTLC)	Chair	
Ms Barbara Madden (apology)	Company Director of the Smithfield Group	Deputy Chair	
Mr Neil Scales	Director-General, Department of Transport and Main Roads	Member	
Mr David Mackay (apology)	A/First Assistant Secretary, Infrastructure Investment Division, Federal Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and Arts (DITRDCA)	Member	Maxine Ewens Assistant Secretary Queensland, NT, WA Branch, DITRDCA
Ms Jo Sheppard (apology)	Chief Executive Officer, Queensland Farmers' Federation (QFF)	Member	
Mr Brett Fraser (apology)	Chief Executive Officer, Queensland Tourism Industry Council (QTIC)	Member	
Ms Alison Smith (apology)	Chief Executive Officer, Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ)	Member	Cory Heathwood (Head of Advocacy, LGAQ)
Mr Gary Mahon	Chief Executive Officer, Queensland Trucking Association (QTA)	Member	, ,
ТВС	Branch Secretary, Transport Workers Union (TWU) Queensland	Member	Mr Joshua Millroy, (TWU) Queensland (apology)
Mr David Carter (apology)	Group Chief Executive Officer, Royal Automobile Club of Queensland (RACQ)	Member	Ms MJ Bellotti (Group Executive Member and Community), RACQ
Ms Elise Pearson	Regional Representative	Member	
Ms Anita Mumford	Regional Representative	Member	
Ms Julie Boyd	Regional Representative	Member	
Mr Robert Dorgelo	Regional Representative	Member	
Ms Tania Dennis	Regional Representative	Member	
Mr Brian Hughes	Regional Representative	Member	